19th Molecular Medicine Day 2015

Course date: 19 March 2015 - 19 March 2015
Location: De Doelen, Rotterdam

On Thursday 19 March 2015 the Erasmus Postgraduate School Molecular Medicine will organize the 19th Molecular Medicine Day.

Location: Jurriaanse Zaal at Congress Centre and Concert Hall De Doelen, Rotterdam

Address: Kruisplein 30 (entrance Jurriaanse Zaal)

Online registration is no longer possible but you can register still at the registration desk in De Doelen on Thursday.

This year keynote speakers are:

•        Prof. Peter C. Doherty of the University of Melbourne. He received in 1996 the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, together with Rolf Zinkernagel, for their discovery of how the immune system recognises virus-infected cells.

•        Prof. Timothy Ley, the Lewis T. and Rosalind B. Apple Professor of Oncology in the Department of Medicine. He is chief of the Section of Stem Cell Biology in the Division of Oncology. He is also Director of the Embryonic Stem Cell Core at the Siteman Cancer Center, and Professor of Genetics.


Detailed day  program

08.00 – 09.00 Registration and slide preview
09.00 – 09.05 Welcome by Prof.dr. Ab Osterhaus, Scientific Director of the School and Chairman of the School Board
09.05 – 10.05 Oral presentations 1-4, chaired by Prof.dr. Ivo Touw, Board member of the School
10.05 – 10.15 Presentation by the winner of the 7th MolMed Publication Award for 2014, chair Ivo Touw
10.15 – 10.35 8 “Elevator pitch” poster presentations, 2 minutes each, chair Ron Fouchier

10.35 – 11.25 Coffee and tea break and informal poster walks

11.25 – 11.40 Oral presentations 5 (no. 6 was canceled), chaired by Prof.dr. Aart Jan van der Lelij, Board member of the School
11.40 - 11.50 Presentation 2nd first prize winner Publication Award
– 12.45 Keynote Lecture by Prof. Peter C. Doherty of the University of Melbourne, title: “The Killer Defence”, chair Prof.dr. Ab Osterhaus
12.45 – 12.55 Discussion, chaired by Prof.dr. Ab Osterhaus

12.55 – 13.55 Lunch

13.55 – 14.55 Oral presentations 7-10, chaired by Prof.dr. Aart Jan van der Lelij
14.55 – 15.10 Presentation of the 3rd MolMed Thesis Award for 2014

15.10 – 16.10 Coffee and tea and informal poster walks

16.10 – 16.20 Award ceremony: Erasmus MC Hematology Award to Prof.dr. Timothy J. Ley, by Prof.dr. Pieter Sonneveld
16.20 – 17.10 Lecture by Erasmus MC Hematology Award Winner Prof.dr. Timothey J. Ley, The Genome Institute Washington University, St. Louis, MO, US, title: “The AML-genome(s)”, chair Prof.dr. Pieter Sonneveld, chairman of the Erasmus MC Cancer Institute
17.10 – 17.20 Discussion, chaired by Prof.dr. Pieter Sonneveld
17.20 – 17.25 Closing of the day by Prof.dr. Ron Fouchier, Chairman of the Educational Committee of the School

17.25 – 18.30 Reception; walking around, informal poster presentations & poster assessment

18.30 – late Dinner for all attendants; announcement of the awards for the best poster and best oral presentation(s) by a member of the board

Click here for the other items